Skip to main content



The African Development Bank (AfDB) is a regional multilateral funding institution whose objective is to contribute to the sustainable economic development and social progress of African countries, which constitute the regional member countries (RMCs) of the AfDB. The agreement establishing the African Development Bank (AfDB) was signed by member states on August 4, 1963, in Khartoum, Sudan. It entered into force on 10 September 1964. The Republic of Congo signed this agreement four months later, November 29, 1963 and ratified the instruments of accession on the 10 February 1965.

The AfDB Group is composed of three entities: the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Development Fund (ADF) and the Nigeria Special Fund (NSF).

As the first development finance institution in Africa, the AfDB has made it a priority to fight poverty, improve the living conditions of Africans and mobilize resources for the economic and social progress of its regional member countries. The AfDB headquarters is in Abidjan. 

In Congo, the AfDB participates in the funding of the following projects: 

  • Road-rail bridge between Brazzaville and Kinshasa

    A flagship and integrative project for Central Africa and the African Union, the road-rail bridge is an essential an important hub in the TAH3 Tripoli-Windhoek-Cape Town trans-African road corridor, the achievement of which is decisive for the Africa region. It was included among the 14 priority projects of the NEPAD Short-Term Action Plan in Central Africa and in the 55 projects of the first priority program of the Consensual Master Plan for Transport in Central Africa (PDCT-AC).

    The contract to implement the road-rail bridge construction project between Brazzaville and Kinshasa was signed on November 7, 2018, in Johannesburg in South Africa, in the presence of officials from the Africa 50 Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), in charge of the file and the African Development Bank (AfDB).

  • Ketta- Ntam Road

    The Ouesso-S road maintenance and tarring project was born out of this political will expressed by the Heads of State of Congo Brazzaville and Cameroon to link Yaounde and Brazzaville by a tarred road. This road is part of the development strategy for both continental and sub-regional transport infrastructure. The Yaounde-Brazzaville road constitutes corridor 29 of the so-called "first priority" road network of the Consensual Master Plan for Transport in Central Africa.

  • Ndende-Doussala-Dolisie road

    The Ndéndé-Doussala (Gabon) and Dolisie (Congo) road construction project, a 225-km long trans-African road initiated and piloted by the Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC) since 2013, to open up, facilitate and boost trade between the two States.

    The construction of this road is part of the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) projects. NEPAD's ambition is to connect all the capitals of Africa by fully tarred transport roads.

Copyright © 2021 Republic of Congo – Ministère de l’Aménagement du Territoire des Infrastructures et de l’Entretien Routier | Mentions légales